Yay Gap Year!

Those who know me understand that I frequently get worked up about the state of the world. Whether it’s inequality in the American education system, the treatment of women across the world, or our gross negligence of combating climate change, I’m often fired up about a certain issue. High school was immensely frustrating for me because more often than not, we spent our time memorizing and regurgitating facts instead of having organic, meaningful discussions about what’s going on in the world. When looking into colleges, I was eager to find an school with plenty of travel opportunities, in which I could learn about the world, explore other cultures, and figure out how I can make a difference. As it turns out, the best place for me to do all that isn’t a college at all. It’s a gap year program called Thinking Beyond Borders.

Thinking Beyond Borders is a 7-month long program in which a group of students travel to several developing countries and try to figure out how they can be successful agents of social change. I am ecstatic to say that I will be embarking on that journey in just six short days! Ghana is our first country, and we will be studying public health. Then comes Thailand (sustainable agriculture), Cambodia, Ecuador (education), and Peru!

I will be attempting to regularly update this blog along the way, so if you’re interested in learning about my experiences, you’re in the right place!
As I prepare for departure, I am feeling an odd mix of emotions. Excitement- I get to travel the world for 7 months with a bunch of cool people!! Stress- turns out packing for a 7 month trip in two backpacks is a little tricky. Nervousness- How will I live without my bestfriend(s), family, and phone for 7 months?!? Grateful- Couldn’t have made this happen without the unbelievable generosity of my community, my friends, TBB, and my amazing mom.
I am spending my next six days frantically squeezing in moments with loved ones, packing, and stuffing my face with sushi and pizza (which I may miss most of all…).
Leaving home for so long will be hard, but I know it’s worth it!
If you want to keep in touch with me, you can message me on Facebook or send me an email @ abbydennis2016@gmail.com. 🙂

Leave a Reply

